National Council and Advisory Board

National President and Councillor

Vikesh Anand, QLD

I grew up thinking I was shy.  In reality, I now realise that it wasn’t shyness but the fear of stuttering which caused me to keep my mouth shut in school, even when I knew the answer.  I attended my first self help group meeting in November 2001 while living in the United States.

  • For the first time, I spoke about my stutter with other people.
  • For the first time, I did not feel alone.
  • For the first time, I wanted to talk and not stay silent for fear of having a block.
  • For the first time, I felt normal.

National Treasurer and Councillor


Bruce Richmond, NSW/ACT

I am married with two sons. I worked as an Accountant and Sales Representative until retiring.

I have lived in Sydney all of my life.

Subsequent to completing an intensive smooth speech course in 1985, I joined Speak Easy.

I have held many positions, both at a State and National level.

National Secretary and Councillor

Sophie Hatcher, VIC

State Councillors

Bernard Glennon, NSW/ACT


Kevin Nuttall, QLD

Grant Meredith, VIC

Paul West, WA

Advisory Board

The advisory board provides advice and information to the ASEA Council and represents one vote on the council.


Dr Janet Beilby, Associate Professor, Curtin University, WA

Dr Susan Block, Senior Lecturer, La Trobe University, Victoria

Associate Professor Ross Menzies, Clinical Psychologist, Australian Stuttering Research Centre, University of Technology, Sydney, NSW

Dr Celeste Merrigan, Clinical Psychologist, VIC

Associate Professor Ann Packman, Senior Research Officer, Australian Stuttering Research Centre, University of Technology, Sydney, NSW